Your thoughts? The latest issue of Sister 2 Sister Magazine

I have to be honest. I have not picked up an issue of Sister 2 Sister in years. I’d say probably since I was a teenager. But with my new quest to document advertisements featuring natural hair, it was the only magazine that catered to black women in the Barnes N Noble by my job (and I live in Atlanta).

I was really surprised to see the number of ads for hair products in their July 2011 issue catering to women with natural hair and the number of articles featuring women with natural hair. As soon as I picked the magazine up, the first page was a Ford ad.

The concept behind this ad was that we may physically age, but we may still find joy in some things: in this case, riding a bike versus driving. Update: A few weeks after posting this ad, I saw the commercial on a natural hair blog, and grabbed these screen shots.

 

I continued to flip the magazine and found an article entitled “Do What Comes Naturally: Grow, style and maintain healthy natural hair. It gave tips on different ways to wear your natural hair: curly, straight, etc along with product recommendations.

Here is a screenshot of their online version of the article.

Stay tuned, because there’s more to come.

Update: This advertisement was also found in the July 2011 issue of Essence.

One thought on “Your thoughts? The latest issue of Sister 2 Sister Magazine

  1. Pingback: Michaels Advertisement – Summer Adventures « Natural Hair in the Media

What's on your mind?

