Adler Advertisement in British Vogue

So…in the spirit of exploring the representation of black naturals in the media, I want to be diligent about searching in mainstream and black magazines. I picked up the July 2011 issue of British Vogue, and was surprised to see how many fewer advertisements were in the magazine compared to Vogue, and any other magazine you may pick up off the stand in the United States. In British Vogue, I found an advertisement for a jewelry company named Adler. This advertisement featured a black woman in what looks like a desert with a lion and a lone tree. I think it’s interesting that one of the few advertisements with a black woman featured one in the desert. I’ll let you draw your own conclusions about whether or not this is a negative or positive representation. BUT, I will say that it invokes certain stereotypes in my mind.

What's on your mind?

