Another Newport Advertisement

So…here we go again. Newport news has yet another ad in Essence with a natural hair model. Like the last ad, the couple is not shown smoking. Again, I wonder…
20110915-031538.jpg

Is this advertisement negative? And if so, can an ad become negative because of the type of product being advertised?

 

On another random note, I was in Cancun recently and saw for myself the warnings that other countries put on boxes of cigarettes to deter you from
smoking. Disturbing? Yes. Effective? Not sure.

One thought on “Another Newport Advertisement

  1. I first saw this ad two weeks ago and I immediately thought ‘I want her hair!’. The couple look like they are just meeting up to have a good time. I love to see black couples doing loving things together.

What's on your mind?

