October 2011 Issue of Black Enterprise

While flipping quickly through this month’s issue of Black Enterprise, I came across a number of ads with natural hair models. I can’t say that I was surprised to find natural hair in the magazine, but I was definitely pleased. First up, is an Allstate campaign celebrating their support for HBCU’s. Next, is an advertisement for a Kumon Franchise. Finally, UnitedHealthCare advertises resources available for businesses.

You know, now that I think about it……I’ve been blogging about natural hair in advertisements for a few months now. There is one thing that many of the ads have in common: most of the models and actors are wearing twist-outs. I wonder why this is. It’s definitely a very cute style.

Why do you think this is the most common hairstyle worn in advertisements? Could it be that its perception is different than an afro?

What's on your mind?

