Natural hair is the star of this Gain Detergent Commercial

Have you seen the new Gain commercial? Believe it or not, it actually takes place in a black beauty salon. And is that Wanda Sykes I hear in the background? Check out former Maybeline model Tomiko Fraser Hines as the natural hair model.

Read the transcript from the video while you watch, and tell me that this commercial is not applauding those who “challenge the same old thing”! | Or, permed hair vs natural hair.|

Transcript:
Would you ever pick your style off a salon wall? Not in a million years. Inspired by all who challenge the same old thing comes Gain Icy Fresh Fizz, in other scents that are like you, anything but ordinary.


The same old thing?

Anything but ordinary….

Thank you to my subscriber Tayo, for sending me this video.

You can also see what other bloggers had to say about this commercial at:

Knotty and Nice
Chenise Lewis
Kinky Like Me
I Love My Fro

Update: Read Tomiko Fraser Hines’ response to my post here.
Check out Tayo on Youtube |Like on Facebook |Follow on Twitter

39 thoughts on “Natural hair is the star of this Gain Detergent Commercial

  1. This commerical plays ALL the time on msnbc.com videos and after watching it easily 100 times, I can say without a doubt that I have never been as freaked out by anything on TV my entire life as I am when that girl sighs right after her cut is done. Something about that woman and the look on her face chills me to my very soul, so much that I have had nightmares because of it.

    • So…I had to go back, watch the video, and find what you were talking about before I responded. I have to say, I didn’t really see it. Are you talking about the female with the shorter haircut? If so, how are you interpreting that whole scene? Whether or not she went there for a hair cute, shape up or style, I don’t see her sigh as anything but one of satisfaction.

    • Dear Saint Desy,

      Nightmares?? Really? I’m so sorry to hear that. I’m the woman featured in this commercial and I can assure that my “look” is definitely one of joy and peace of mind. I’m sorry that you see it as otherwise.

      Tomiko

  2. This is exactly the type of commercial with natural hair in it that I wanted to see when I created this blog! It’s a positive celebration of natural hair. At least that’s how I see it.

  3. Hello. My name is Tomiko Fraser Hines and I am the actress featured in this Gain commercial. First, thank you so much to “Natural Hair In The Media” for writing this article. I have been floored by the amount of attention and support I’ve been receiving from the natural hair community because of this commercial. I do hope that you and your readers will let Gain know just how much you appreciate seeing women of color/women with natural hair featured in their ads. I think it’s important they know that by seeing ourselves represented in their ads means more than they probably realize. You can leave comments on Gain’s Facebook page – http://www.facebook.com/Gain. And feel free to give me a shout out there too. : )

    I’d also like to invite your readers to “like” my page on Facebook (www.facebook.com/tomikofraser) and to follow me on Twitter (www.twitter.com/GoddessTomiko). I post inspirational messages and much more on both sites.

    Thank you again!!

    Tomiko : )

    • Hi Tomiko! Thank you so much for visiting my blog! When I saw this commercial with you in it, I was so excited. It’s not often that you see natural hair models/actors in national campaigns that celebrate natural hair. A positive representation of natural hair like the one we see in this Gain commercial is so uplifting.

      I will definitely encourage my readers and followers to support this advertisement and you.

      Thanks again for stopping by!

  4. Pingback: Tomiko Fraser Hines and Gain « Natural Hair in the Media

  5. Pingback: Let me find out Gain is throwing shade at permies... - CurlTalk

  6. Pingback: Natural Hair & Gain | Natural Hair Rules!!! Natural Hair Styles, Hair Care, & Inspiration

  7. Thank you so much for providing this information. I just recently say this commercial last Tuesday during the season premier of the Game. I would like to interview the director or producer of the commercial. If you get a chance to interview them. I would love to feature the post on my site.

    • Thanks for stopping by! I would definitely love to interview the director or brains behind this commercial. If I get the opportunity, I will definitely let you know.

  8. Pingback: | Hair Politik

  9. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHITM « Natural Hair in the Media

  10. Pingback: When Advertisers Positively Acknowledge Black Women « Acts of Faith In Love & Life

  11. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHITM February 12 « Natural Hair in the Media

  12. Pingback: Mondays Around the Web – Acts of Faith Blog « Natural Hair in the Media

  13. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHITM February 19 « Natural Hair in the Media

  14. This commercial was very refreshing. I don’t watch alot of TV so I am missing out on the new commercials, but it is good to see GAIN (my choice of laundry detergent) showing Natural Hair in the Media, in a positive light! KUDOS to GAIN and KUDOS to NHITM for the post!!!

    • That is my problem, too! Without cable, I miss a lot of great commercials. Thankfully, I see a lot on Hulu. It’s just finding them online that can be challenging. Just this past weekend alone, I probably saw 4 commercials with naturals. Go #teamnatural

  15. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM March 10 « Natural Hair in the Media

  16. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM March 17 « Natural Hair in the Media

  17. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM March 24 « Natural Hair in the Media

  18. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM April 1 « Natural Hair in the Media

  19. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM June 3 « Natural Hair in the Media

  20. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM June 24 « Natural Hair in the Media

  21. Pingback: Mondays Around the Web – Natural Hair in the Media « Natural Hair in the Media

  22. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM July 8 « Natural Hair in the Media

  23. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM July 15 « Natural Hair in the Media

  24. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM August 19 « Natural Hair in the Media

  25. Pingback: Tide Commercial – Washing Machine Cleaner | Natural Hair in the Media

  26. Pingback: Wanda Sykes is Gain’s Scent Matchmaker | Natural Hair in the Media

  27. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM September 2 | Natural Hair in the Media

  28. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM September 9 | Natural Hair in the Media

What's on your mind?

