Viola Davis rocks natural hair to the Oscars

Last night, actress Viola Davis was gorgeous in a green Vera Wang dress and her TWA (teeny weeny afro). This video, which was posted to CNN, features an interview with Davis during the 84th Annual Academy Awards. Interestingly, the caption(s) for the video read: Viola Davis skips wig for Oscars (CNN homepage) and Viola Davis talks to CNN from the red carpet about her new, natural look.

When complimented on her natural hair, Davis let the reporter know that her husband (Julius Tennon) encouraged her to wear her hair out. Even more telling, Davis says, “I think it was time to step into who I was. And to be bold about it. I don’t think that when you tell people that you need to do it with a whimper”. She was also asked whether or not it was hard to take off her usual wig. To her credit, she admitted that it was hard, but “not as hard as [she] thought it would be”.

Watch the video here: http://i.cdn.turner.com/cnn/.element/apps/cvp/3.0/swf/cnn_416x234_embed.swf?context=embed&videoId=bestoftv/2012/02/27/exp-viola-davis-red-carpet-intv.cnn

Just in case you can’t stream video, I’m providing a transcript of the interview for you to read.

Reporter: I love that you’re wearing the natural.
Viola: Thank you. You know, my husband encouraged me. And I think it was time to step into who I was. And to be bold about it. I don’t think that when you tell people that you need to do it with a whimper.
Julius Tennon (Husband) She’s not making a statement. She’s who she is.
Reporter: Was it hard, though? Was it hard? Because we see you and you always look so glamorous. We know you wear wigs. But was it hard to just take it off?
Viola: Yeah, it was. But, I have to tell you. It was not as hard as I thought it would be. So, therefore, I think it was time. That’s why. It was just time.
Reporter: Who is this dress by? Because you are wearing it.
Viola: Oh, Vera Wang.

Welcome to team natural, Viola!

Do you think seeing celebrities embrace their natural hair will provide encouragement to other women? What made you want to go natural?

What's on your mind?

