Product Review: Nothing But Curly Pudding

In a previous post, I shared that Sofn’Free sent me their new natural hair line, Nothing But, for me to review. First up, I’m sharing my thoughts about the Nothing But Curly Pudding.

Ingredients:
Water (Aqua), Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Glycerin, Polysorbate 20, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth-20, PVP, Isopropyl Myristate, Oleth-20, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethiconol, Carbopol, Dimethicone, Triethanolamine, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Fragrance (Parfum), Acetamide MEA, Hydrolyzed Keratin, Panthenol, Propylene Glycol, Sorbitol,Sodium Cocoyl Collagen Amino Acid, Cocoyl Sarcosine, Wheat Germ Acid, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil, Linolenic Acid, Linoleic Acid, Sulfur, Polysorbate 80, Oleth-10, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Hydrolyzed Glycosaminoglycansance, Diazolidinyl Urea, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Hexyl Cinnamic Aldehyde, Citronellol, Hydroxycitronellal, d-Limonene, Linalool.

About my hair: My hair is a few inches from BSL (Bra-strap length) and if you believe in the hair typing system, I have very tightly coiled 4b hair.

Packaging: As the picture shows, Nothing But Curly Pudding comes in a plastic container. It’s recyclable (for all my environmentally-conscious men and women out there), and the design is basic (I like basic). One of the things I like about this product and the line is that the color scheme is consistent. You can tell that it’s a unified product line. This color scheme is also repeated in the marketing associated with the line.

Purpose: Curly Pudding can be used to soften tight curls and elongate waves, according to the company.

Consistency: This product is deceptively lightweight. It’s creamy, which I like. Once you put the Curly Pudding on your hair, you’ll see that it’s thicker than it looks.

Fragrance:
The fragrance of this product is very light and fresh. To me, it smells like citrus.

Price: Nothing But Curly Pudding retails for $7.99 (8.8 oz), but it’s currently on sale for $5.99 at Honest Hair Care. You cannot beat the price point of these products! For these products to be free of petroleum, mineral oil, sulfates, parabens, colorants, or phthalates, it’s so surprising to see such affordable prices.

Results: Overall, I was very happy with this product. I used it to refresh a very old twist-out. Before applying the product, I sprayed my hair with the Nothing But Curl Wake Up Spray. The Curly Pudding went on very smoothly, and my hair seemed to love the moisture. I twisted my hair into 4 large twists (for a bang) and tied a scarf for bed. The next morning, I woke up praying that my hair had absorbed the product. Given the low porosity of my hair, I was a little worried. But I had nothing to worry about because the product dried completely. When I took the twists out, I was happy about the shine and moisture of my hair. I was also excited about the curl definition this product provided. *Update: After a reader suggested it, I posted some pictures. I’ll get better at adding pictures, I promise. By the way, my first hairstyle was inspired by iknowlee*. I used the Curly Pudding in the front of my hair.

Update: After washing my hair again, I put my hair in about 50 two strand twists using the curly pudding. The pictures below show the curl definition and hold this product gave me.

Overall opinion: Yes, I would buy this. Especially because of the ingredients and price.

42 thoughts on “Product Review: Nothing But Curly Pudding

  1. when you try it again I’d like to see pictures, thanks for sharing, I will soon be trying the product out hopefully on my hair and my daughters. I’m a 4a girl and she is 3c.

  2. Pingback: Sofn’free “So Fresh, So Clean” Products Giveaway « Natural Hair in the Media

  3. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM March 10 « Natural Hair in the Media

  4. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM March 17 « Natural Hair in the Media

  5. Pingback: Sofn’free “So Fresh, So Clean” Products Giveaway – Reminder « Natural Hair in the Media

  6. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM March 24 « Natural Hair in the Media

  7. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM April 1 « Natural Hair in the Media

  8. Hey, I have 4b hair and i was wondering, in your opinion do you think this product would be good for a wash nd go. As well, if you have ever done a wash nd go what products do you use?

    • Hi Tay!

      Thanks for your comment/question. In my opinion, I don’t think this is the best product for a wash-n-go. Although a “wash-n-wear” look is a styling option listed on the Nothing But products site, I don’t know that it would work well for 4B/4C curls. As you can see, my hair is very kinky, thick, and colored. I need something that is really going to give me some serious definition while moisturizing my hair. The curly pudding was great for two-strand twists and a defined twist-out.

      With that said, I have never successfully done a wash-n-go. I’ve tried Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie, Eco Styler Gel, Kinky Curly Coiling Custard, and probably some other stuff. The Eco styler gel gave me the most definition, but b/c my hair kinky, it wasn’t too cute once it dried. And it shrunk a lot.

      Long story short: a wash-n-go is possible for 4B hair. I recommend putting a leave in conditioner in your hair, and trying Eco Styler Gel (it’s very cheap and you can buy it at Sally’s). Apply the gel in sections using the shingle method. And keep your hands out of your hair while it dries.

      I hope this helps. If I ever find a product/process that works for me, I’ll be sure to post it on here for you to read.

  9. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM June 3 « Natural Hair in the Media

  10. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM June 10 « Natural Hair in the Media

  11. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM June 17 « Natural Hair in the Media

  12. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM June 24 « Natural Hair in the Media

  13. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM July 1 « Natural Hair in the Media

  14. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM July 8 « Natural Hair in the Media

  15. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM July 15 « Natural Hair in the Media

  16. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM July 22 « Natural Hair in the Media

  17. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM August 19 « Natural Hair in the Media

  18. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM August 26 | Natural Hair in the Media

  19. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM September 2 | Natural Hair in the Media

  20. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM September 9 | Natural Hair in the Media

  21. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM September 16 | Natural Hair in the Media

  22. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM September 23 | Natural Hair in the Media

  23. I recently attended the Natural Hair Expo in Harlem NY and was introduced to this product by Will, who’d said he was the expert. That he was! I was extrememly pleased with my results and shared that with him through email. I purchased the Curly pudding, curl sealer and wake curl spray. All of these products completely blew my mind. Why, well because I have extremely dehydrated hair and can never find a product that works for me. Will was very pleasant and informative about the product and even suggested a regimen without knowing my hair condition aside from what I briefly explained at the Hair Expo I was very happy with the outcome and can see my curl pattern which might I add is haute hunty!! Customer service was well and I sincerely appreciate being introduce to a real product that gives you results.

    • Hi Naima! Thank you so much for stopping by my blog and sharing such a great experience with my readers. I’ve met Will in person, and I agree that he is A-W-E-S-O-M-E! And I’m glad that you were able to find something that works for you. 🙂

      Tiffany

  24. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM September 30 | Natural Hair in the Media

  25. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM October 7 | Natural Hair in the Media

  26. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM October 21 | Natural Hair in the Media

  27. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM October 28 | Natural Hair in the Media

  28. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM November 4 | Natural Hair in the Media

  29. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM November 11 | Natural Hair in the Media

  30. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM November 18 | Natural Hair in the Media

  31. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM November 25 | Natural Hair in the Media

  32. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM December 2 | Natural Hair in the Media

  33. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM December 9 | Natural Hair in the Media

  34. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM December 16 | Natural Hair in the Media

  35. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM December 23 | Natural Hair in the Media

What's on your mind?

