Product Review: Nothing But Clarifying Shampoo

In a previous post, I reviewed the Nothing But Curly Pudding. Today, I’m reviewing the Nothing But Clarifying Shampoo.

Ingredients:
 Water (Aqua), Sodium C14-16 Olefin Sulfonate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Cocamide DEA, Sodium Lauroamphoacetate, Polyquaternium 10, PEG-150 Pentaerythrityl Tetrastearate, PEG-6 Capric/Caprylic Glycerides, Polysorbate 20, Fragrance (Parfum), Diazolidinyl Urea, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Citric Acid, d-Limone, Linalool, Citral.

About my hair: My hair is a few inches from BSL (Bra-strap length) and if you believe in the hair typing system, I have very tightly coiled 4b hair.

Packaging: As the picture shows, Nothing But Clarifying Shampoo comes in a plastic container. It’s recyclable (for all my environmentally-conscious men and women out there), and the design is basic (I like basic). One of the things I like about this product and the line is that the color scheme is consistent. You can tell that it’s a unified product line. This color scheme is also repeated in the marketing associated with the line.

Purpose: Clarifying Shampoo is a sulfate-free cleanser that can be used to dissolve build-up. It is also good for color-treated hair, which is great for me.

Consistency: This product is thick and clear.  Even though it’s sulfate-free, it gets sudsy.

Fragrance:
The fragrance of this product is very light and fresh. To me, it smells like citrus.

Price: Nothing But Clarifying Shampoo retails for $7.99 (12 oz) at Honest Hair Care. As I mentioned before, these products are pretty affordable.

Results: Overall, this product didn’t work well for my hair. Before washing my hair with the Clarifying Shampoo, I pre-pooed for an hour using coconut oil.  My hair was really soft and easy to finger detangle after the coconut oil. I then hopped into the shower and rinsed out the coconut oil before using the shampoo. Because my hair is long and thick, I always shampoo with 4-8 twists in my hair. This helps me apply the product evenly and manage my mane. I used the shampoo on my scalp twice (because there was a lot of build-up) and noticed that my hair felt very stripped after rinsing it out. So, my scalp was definitely clean but my hair almost felt crunchy.

My hair was also tangled. I kept my hair in the twists to keep it from getting tangled, and once all the shampoo was out I took them out to do an assessment. The tangles in my hair made prepping for the deep conditioner very difficult.

Stay tuned to find out how the Nothing But Cleansing Conditioner worked for my hair.

Overall opinion: No, I would not buy this. And due to my experience with the product, I will probably not try it again. There may be a way to use this product, but it didn’t work for me.

4 thoughts on “Product Review: Nothing But Clarifying Shampoo

  1. Pingback: Sofn’free “So Fresh, So Clean” Products Giveaway « Natural Hair in the Media

  2. Pingback: Sofn’free “So Fresh, So Clean” Products Giveaway – Reminder « Natural Hair in the Media

  3. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM June 10 « Natural Hair in the Media

  4. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM August 19 « Natural Hair in the Media

What's on your mind?

