Product Review: Nothing But Cleansing Conditioner

Before using the Nothing But Cleansing Conditioner that Sofn’free sent me, I washed my hair with the Nothing But Clarifying Shampoo. Click here to read the review. Basically, I started the conditioning process with stripped and tangled hair.

Ingredients:
Water (Aqua), Glycerin, Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethiconol, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Polyacrylamide, C13-14 Isoparaffin, Laureth-7, Fragrance (Parfum), Acetamide MEA, Hydrolyzed Keratin, Panthenol, Propylene Glycol, Sorbitol, Sodium Cocoyl Collagen Amino Acid, Cocoyl Sarcosine, Wheat Germ Acid, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil, Linolenic Acid, Linoleic Acid, Sulfur, Polysorbate 80, Oleth-10, Simmondsia Chinensis, (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Hydrolyzed Glycosaminoglycansance, Diazolidinyl Urea, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Hexyl Cinnamic Aldehyde, Citronellol, Hydroxycitronellal, d-Limonene, Linalool.

About my hair: My hair is a few inches from BSL (Bra-strap length) and if you believe in the hair typing system, I have very tightly coiled 4b hair.

Packaging: As the picture shows, Nothing But Cleansing Conditioner comes in a plastic container. It’s recyclable (for all my environmentally-conscious men and women out there), and the design is basic (I like basic). One of the things I like about this product and the line is that the color scheme is consistent. You can tell that it’s a unified product line. This color scheme is also repeated in the marketing associated with the line.

Purpose: Cleansing Conditioner can be used after the Clarifying Shampoo or alone as a co-wash.

Consistency: This product is deceptively lightweight. It’s creamy, which I like.

Fragrance:
The fragrance of this product is very light and fresh. To me, it smells like citrus.

Price: Nothing But Cleansing Conditioner retails for $8.99 (16 oz) at Honest Hair Care.

Results: Overall, I was not very happy with this product. I used it after the Clarifying Shampoo and started with stripped, tangled hair. Since my hair was already tangled it made sectioning my hair difficult. At this point, I didn’t use any other products because I wanted to see how the line worked by itself. With my hair in twists, I applied the conditioner to my hair one section at a time. I then got out my Heutiful Hair Steamer, and did a steam treatment. When my steamer dinged to let me know time was up, I went to rinse out the conditioner with cold water. To my surprise, my hair was still tangled and felt dry. In the interest of full disclosure, I did use another product from a different line as a leave-in conditioner because I planned on twisting my hair (and didn’t want to do so on tangled hair). I used Karen Body Beautiful Sweet Ambrosia Leave-In Conditioner to add some moisture and comb through my hair. I then followed it up with the Nothing But Curly Pudding and castor oil (on my ends) to put in two-strand twists. The Curly Pudding worked well for the twisting process, because it moisturized my hair without weighing it down.

Overall opinion: I probably would not try to use this product as a deep conditioner again. It may work if I re-try it as a co-wash.

13 thoughts on “Product Review: Nothing But Cleansing Conditioner

  1. Pingback: Sofn’free “So Fresh, So Clean” Products Giveaway « Natural Hair in the Media

  2. I thought this product was horrible! Left my hair very dry and tangled. If it wasn’t for your review I would have probably thrown out the pudding. I was afraid to try it.

    • Hi Randi! Thanks for your comment. Did you try the shampoo yet? I plan on giving the conditioner another try, especially since I was starting with stripped hair. But, like I said in my review, I may want to try it again as a co-wash.

  3. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM March 17 « Natural Hair in the Media

  4. Pingback: Sofn’free “So Fresh, So Clean” Products Giveaway – Reminder « Natural Hair in the Media

  5. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM April 1 « Natural Hair in the Media

  6. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM June 24 « Natural Hair in the Media

  7. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM July 1 « Natural Hair in the Media

  8. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM July 22 « Natural Hair in the Media

  9. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM August 19 « Natural Hair in the Media

  10. I’ve heard very few positive reviews of this product. Real shame as they are so affordable. Then again I guess that’s WHY they are so cheap. LoL!

  11. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM September 2 | Natural Hair in the Media

  12. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM September 30 | Natural Hair in the Media

What's on your mind?

