Product Review: Nothing But Mold and Hold Wax

Here is my latest review from the Nothing But line, on their Mold and Hold Wax.

Ingredients:
 Water (Aqua), Ceteareth-20, PEG-7, Glyceryl Cocoate, Polyquaternium 46, Glycerin, Dimethicone, Polyglycery-3 Diisostearate, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil, DMDM Hydantoin, Diazolidinyl Urea, Iodopropynel Butylcarbamate.

About my hair: My hair is a few inches from BSL (Bra-strap length) and if you believe in the hair typing system, I have very tightly coiled 4b hair.

Packaging: As the picture shows, Nothing But Mold and Hold Wax comes in a plastic container. It’s recyclable (for all my environmentally-conscious men and women out there), and the design is basic (I like basic). One of the things I like about this product and the line is that the color scheme is consistent. You can tell that it’s a unified product line. This color scheme is also repeated in the marketing associated with the line.

Purpose: Holding product for two strand twists

Consistency: This product is thick and viscous.

Fragrance:
The fragrance of this product is very light and fresh. To me, it smells like citrus.

Price: Nothing But Cleansing Conditioner retails for $7.99 (8.8oz) at Honest Hair Care.

Results: It took me a few tries to figure out how to use this. Don’t make my mistake of not reading the  directions on the website. I just read the name and assumed it served the same purpose as a gel. As a gel for my edges, this product did give a light hold, but it didn’t really last after a day. After talking with Will (Sofn’free in house hair expert) and Lisa (Sofn’free PR rep), I learned that I should probably try it on my twists.

So, I tried it again. I used it to re-twist what had become fuzzy mini-twists. With the product, the twists were very defined, and made for a great twist-out when I took them out.

Overall opinion: I probably would  try this product again. It gave me a really great, defined twist-out.

Go here to see an in-depth product review from the Hairscapades blog.

2 thoughts on “Product Review: Nothing But Mold and Hold Wax

  1. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM August 26 | Natural Hair in the Media

What's on your mind?

