Tilex Advertisement

Since beginning my blog almost a year ago, I’ve come across lots of advertisements and commercials with natural actors/actresses. From retailers, food, banks, restaurants, car insurance companies, cigarettes, natural hair is often represented. Aside from the Gain commercial, though, I have not found a lot of commercials/advertisements for household goods. Which is why I was pleasantly surprised to see a Tilex advertisement in the May 2012 issue of Essence magazine. With the tagline, “you’re in control”, you see a confident, strong woman with natural hair who “[w]on’t let mold push [her] around.  But…..I’ll be the first one to admit it: I’ve tried to use earth-friendly, green cleaning products and they just didn’t get the job done. So, I use something that is a little bit stronger, but probably not good for Mother Earth. How important is it to you that your cleaning products be earth-friendly, or that they get the job done?

3 thoughts on “Tilex Advertisement

  1. it’s a delicate balance, but I’m more on the side of earth friendly….products are getting better and better at cleaning, and there’s more out there than the “7th gens” ans such…

    • I try to recycle and use earth-friendly products whenever possible. But then I start to wonder if it’s really worth the investment, time, energy, etc? To be honest, I’m just one person and I wonder how much of am impact I make? But that won’t stop me from doing it. When I see advertisements like this, it makes me think about it.

  2. Pingback: Walt Disney World Advertisement « Natural Hair in the Media

What's on your mind?

