My Black is Beautiful Advertisement

I totally applaud P&G for their motivation behind the My Black is Beautiful Campaign. According to their webiste, the My Black is Beautiful campaign was created to address the “difficult ways our beauty is reflected in popular media”. In my opinion, defining our own beauty standards as African American women (and especially as African American women with natural hair) is critical. And that’s why natural hair blogs are so important. To me, they not only provide inspiration and resources for women with natural hair, but they also help us define beauty in our own terms.

Here, to the right, you see an advertisement for the campaign that was featured in the May 2012 issue of Essence magazine. I love this ad because it shows 3 generations of beautiful black women. How is your black beautiful?

What's on your mind?

