Mondays Around the Web – Naturally Happy Hair

While at the World Natural Hair, Health, and Beauty Show in Atlanta this past weekend, I met so many wonderful curlfriends. Read all about my wonderful experiences (and product hauls) from the show here.

A the show, I was able to meet one of the contributors to the blog, who passed along her information to me. I checked out the blog, and lo and behold, they had a post about natural hair and fashion! This week’s Mondays Around the Web post comes from the blog, Naturally Happy Hair.

In this post, you’ll find lots of examples of natural hair on the runway. Check it out here.

Natural hair is taking over!

Update: Thanks to a guest who shared this image on Pinterest, I found out that this is “freckled-face-natural-hair-model-blogger” Nikia Phoenix. Nikia is the creator of Model Liberation.

In an interview with Afrobella, Nikia said the following on Essence.com: “Around 2005, advertisers started using more natural haired models…mostly light-skinned women with loose curls,” she says. “My hair was relaxed, but hairstylists on set were styling my hair to look like that. I was like, this is cute, but it’s not what my natural hair looks like!”

Read more: http://www.essence.com/2011/02/03/natural-hair-diary-nikia-phoenix-model/#ixzz1tg5RlzGo

2 thoughts on “Mondays Around the Web – Naturally Happy Hair

  1. I don’t if you’ve already seen Tomiko Fraser-Hines latest commercial for Generals Meals’ Honey Nut Chherios, but I just saw it today. It sure looked like her to me.

    • Hi Vonni, I haven’t seen it yet! Thanks for sharing, I’m definitely going to try and find it online. And I think you’re right, Tomiko mentioned on Twitter that she was doing another commercial.

What's on your mind?

