Twists ‘N Locs Redefine Yourself Advertisement

When you think about advertising for natural hair products, what do you see? Do you see a woman with loose waves? tight coils? curly hair? If you didn’t say a woman/man with gorgeous long locs or braids, you’re probably not alone. In this growing natural hair community, it seems like men and women with locs (and the products they use) are not as popular as hair products for loose, natural hair. For an interesting perspective, see this opinion piece published on Ebony.com about locs losing their luster. Whether or not you agree, ask yourself: how many new (or existing) product lines target those with locs? how many well-known loc’ed bloggers/vloggers are there?

The answer is probably not that many. I started this post by asking you to think of what images come to mind when you think of natural hair products. As you can probably guess, I find the supposed lack of men and women with locs interesting, and wonder why more products aren’t targeted towards them.

But that’s a post in itself.

For now, I want to point your attention to this advertisement a reader saw on Facebook. It’s for the product line, Twist ‘N Locs. I admit, I didn’t know much about the product line so I did some research. The company has been around since 1989 and it is a full service manufacturer specializing in personal care products. Here’s an interesting tidbit about their products: they use nanotechnology during manufacturing to help your hair “receive the maximum benefit of the vitamins along with deeper penetration and faster absorption to the roots, scalp and hair” (Twist N Locs 2012). The product line has shampoos, conditioners, hair sprays, hair waxes, and locking formulas.

This advertisement is definitely unique. If you look closely, you can see that the model has locs which become braids towards the middle of her strands. If she’s wearing make-up, they definitely took a minimalist approach to the application. Maybe that was to be consistent with the tagline: Redefine Yourself. The tagline seems to be suggesting that you can use the products to easily transition from one hairstyle to another. Say, from locs to braids. But that’s just my interpretation. Did you read it a different way?

Here’s the copy from the ad: Your style defines who you are. And whether it’s time for a slight change in style or an entirely new direction, Twists ‘n Locs Natural Hair Care Products can help you achieve it with sheer radiance. Our products contain Nano Vitamins A, D, E and F, allowing for faster penetration to the roots, scalp and hair. Twists ‘n Locs, the original and trusted name for healthy, beautiful hair.

What do you think this ad is saying? How can you redefine yourself?

Source: Twist N Locs (2012). About. Retrieved from http://twistnlocs.com/about/.

3 thoughts on “Twists ‘N Locs Redefine Yourself Advertisement

  1. Thanks for posting this! I am about 3 & 1/2 years post big chop now. I am looking forward to starting my first set of locs soon and I’m finding that there is a big difference in the amount of information, and products available for loc’d hair.
    The lady in this advertisement seems to have had braid extentions that she let grow into locs. The majority of natural hair products that are popular are used to define curls, to seal in moisture and detangle hair. None of that is necessarily helpful when locking hair. The goal is to get strands of hair to tangle together, if locs are keps wet for too long they could mildew, and the last thing a person who wants to keep their locs needs is a detangling product.
    I apptrciate seeing ads like this one.

    • I’m so glad you stopped by! Good luck on your loc journey. I’ve got an upcoming giveaway that I think you may be excited about (details to be posted shortly).

      Since I don’t have locs, I’m not really familiar with the variety of ways that you can start them. I know you can use palm coils, loc extensions, or two strand twists, but I don’t know of many other options.

      And I definitely agree with you that most popular products are for loose curls. Although it’s great to see new natural hair companies,they typically wouldn’t benefit someone with locs. Their target audience seems to be women with loose natural hair, with few exceptions.

  2. I bought the Twist ‘n Locs herbal spray last year after I did one of my many big chops. Loved it! Only one problem…I never found another bottle of it in my area. It doesnt help that I couldnt remember the name of the product or that they changed the packaging either. I’ve found it now and look forward to spraying my hair with it EVERY day!! lol

What's on your mind?

