Yahoo – Small Business Advertisement

One of the things I love about blogging is that you never know where you’re going to find inspiration or content. You may get great ideas while browsing the web, watching tv, in the grocery store, in the gym, or driving. If you’re a blogger, where do you get inspiration?

While at work the other day, this Yahoo advertisement appeared on my co-worker’s computer. We were both surprised to see a woman with natural hair on the homepage of Yahoo Mail!

But when I clicked in the upper-right hand corner of the advertisement, I started to wonder if this was a coincidence. I was taken to a site that further explained why I was seeing this particular advertisement.

It should come as no surprise to me that websites use targeted advertising. Here’s how Yahoo explains it: “The Web sites you visit work with online advertising companies to provide you with advertising that is as relevant and useful as possible. Some of the online ads you are served may be based on the content of the Web page you’re visiting; some others may be based on registration information you provide; and other ads may be customized based on predictions about your interests generated from your visits to other Web sites”.

The researcher in me wanted to know: how do they analyze the websites I frequent? Is there an algorithm that collects and analyzes all the data? Do they tag advertisements with certain words? Or is it just a coincidence that this particular advertisement popped up on my computer?

I’m now off to do some research on online advertising companies and how they work. If anyone knows, please share!

What's on your mind?

