She Did That! Solange Knowles fires back at the “natural hair” police

So, if you’re one of the millions of people with a Twitter account, you may have already seen tweets,re-tweets, and twitter

Source: Essence

beefs about Solange Knowles’ recent “attack” on the natural hair police. If you’re not on Twitter, or want a synopsis, let me break it down for you. I’ve pieced this together the best I could, so please let me know if there was a pivotol moment not mentioned on here.

PART 1: In the June 2012 issue of Essence magazine, Solange sat down with Corynne L. Corbett to discuss her natural hair. As you can see from the image to the right, the article summary says: “In an exclusive interview, Solange Knowles talks to Essence about her hair and why she enjoys inspiring others”. Here’s a link to the online version of the article.
PART 2: On the same day, the article is re-posted on Curlynikki.com. This prompts lots of comments and criticisms from the Curly Nikki community. In my experience, I’ve found that this community  can be critical, fragmented, supportive, you name it. Side note: the beauty of online communities is that not everyone has to agree. One CN poster said, “I don’t see anything special about her hair at all and I don’t admire it. I’ve seen naturals with more style all on their own”, while another asked, “why all the hating on Solange?! Dag! The girl is wearing natural hair in the limelight, what else could you possibly want from her! Crabs in a barrel?”
 *Cue the drama*
PART 3: On June 7, a post is published on the Modern Meid Tumbler page. The post author raises several interesting points about the natural hair community, and references back to the original Essence article, as re-posted on Curly Nikki.   She wrote: “So do you think some naturals go too far when it comes to other people’s natural hair? Yes or no? And why?” And this, in my humble opinion, is a valid question.
PART 4:  Solange got on Twitter in response to 1) the post on Modern Meid and 2) other conversations about her natural hair. And this, my darlings, is why I say, “she did that!” Here are some of her tweets (start reading at the bottom-click to enlarge):
 PART 5: Then, there’s a flurry of blog posts responding to Solange. Here are some posts:
Crunk and Disorderly, “Tweets is Watching: Solange is Not Here for the Natural Hair Nazi”
Madame Noire, “Solange Addresses the Natural Hair Police of the World”
Black Girl with Long Hair, “Solange Takes to Twitter to Rant Against the Natural Hair Police”
PART 6: And, here we are now. Some members of Team Natural “no likey” Solange anymore (or they never liked her, for that matter). I’ve seen comments questioning how she could alienate the natural hair community and simultaneously be a spokesperson for Carol’s Daughter. I’m not weighing in on that.
But I will say this: the natural hair police does exist! It’s not a myth. I’ve experienced the comments myself, especially because I dye my hair. According to some, that doesn’t make me natural anymore. *eye roll* But the way I understood it, “natural” meant no perm. I mean, you’re talking to a natural hair veteran here! Natural doesn’t mean that you can’t color your hair or press it. It just means that you no longer use chemicals to straighten your hair. And besides, who are you to question me (or anyone else) about what I do with my hair?
Have you ever been given a ticket by the natural hair police?
20 thoughts on “She Did That! Solange Knowles fires back at the “natural hair” police

  1. I thought the same thing too! Natural hair is hair without a relaxer! I recently semi permanently died my hair and I wish someone WOULD try to tell me I’m not natural. But being as though im not around many natural people at all, nobody argues with my theory. In the end it’s still my hair and I’m happy with it. I guess Solange feels the same way too.

    • LOL! I feel the same way. Natural means no perm. Ultimately, I think whatever works for you doesn’t have to work for everyone. I have lots of friends who perm their hair, and I never pressure them to go natural. If they ask my advice, I give it. If they want to know if my hair is healthier in its natural state, I tell them. If they seek advice about how to go natural, I let them know. But I will never try to force someone to go natural. That’s not me.

  2. Totally didn’t hear about this lol. I agree with the above. Definitely not about trying to convert people, just about expressing yourself the way you want to.

    • LOL. I only heard about it through Twitter, and felt like I missed the boat. My post comes after all of the “drama”.
      Like you, I am not about trying to convert anyone to natural. If people want advice or guidance, I’ll provide it. But I don’t pressure anyone to go natural.

  3. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM June 17 « Natural Hair in the Media

  4. I LOVE IT…and yes SHE DID THAT…

    I am sure that if the Natural Hair Nazi’s ever met me – they would throw me under the jail…I can’t subscribe to what others deem as what is and is not natural. I do not have a relaxer, but occasionally I wear a weave ~ today I have a twist out (well it was a few days ago…today…maybe not so much)…next week it may be 18inches of Malaysian ~ does that make any less natural???

    I feel like people just need a reason to revolt…if you don’t like something that somebody is doing or saying, don’t subscribe to it…

    I personally like Solange *shrugs*…

    Well done Tiff!!!

    • I think it depends on who you ask, whether or not wearing weaves or perms makes you less natural. I’m all about healthy hair, ultimately. For others, it’s a lifestyle, a political statement, etc.

  5. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM June 24 « Natural Hair in the Media

  6. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM July 1 « Natural Hair in the Media

  7. Pingback: Mondays Around the Web – Natural Hair in the Media « Natural Hair in the Media

  8. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM July 8 « Natural Hair in the Media

  9. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM July 15 « Natural Hair in the Media

  10. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM July 22 « Natural Hair in the Media

  11. Pingback: Things Every Natural Hair Blogger/Vlogger Should Know – Part 3: Do Better « Natural Hair in the Media

  12. Pingback: A few of my FAVORITE things!! « Natural Hair in the Media

  13. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM August 19 « Natural Hair in the Media

  14. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM September 9 | Natural Hair in the Media

  15. Pingback: Dear Glamour, Was Serena Williams’ hair really an Olympic Beauty Do? | Natural Hair in the Media

  16. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM September 16 | Natural Hair in the Media

  17. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM September 23 | Natural Hair in the Media

What's on your mind?

