I’m a Mormon Campaign – Starring Naturalista Sheryl

In an effort to showcase the lives of everyday Mormons, the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints developed the “I’m a Mormon” campaign. With commercials showcasing everyday Mormons, the public is able to view the real life stories of Mormons from all walks of life. Much to my surprise, one of the stories featured Sheryl, a self-described Mormon and urban school teacher. And you guessed it: she has beautiful natural hair! Her hair has been styled in some really cute two-strand twists.

Source: Mormon.org

Her video, which is viewable on the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints ‘ website, begins: “When people find out that I’m a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints…they’re like, “what’s that?” I’m like, “I’m a Mormon”. They’re like, no way, “you’re a Mormon? I’ve never met a black Mormon”. And I’m like, Yeah, we exist”. Here’s her story:

About Me

After returning home from a full-time mission in South Africa, I realized I couldn’t help everybody everywhere, but I could help somebody somewhere. Becoming a teacher was the way I felt like I could fulfill that personal mission. I love meeting new people and strengthening the friendships I already have. There are many things that I consider fun: hanging out with my family, eating great food, being a matchmaker and dancing!

Why I am a Mormon

When I was 10 years old two young men (missionaries) came to our door and I knew right away that what they had to say was what I was missing in my life. From that point, every good choice I’ve made has been because of my Church membership (choosing where I went to college, deciding to serve a mission, choosing my profession). When one truly understands who they are as a child of God and that they have a purpose here in life, as I’ve learned through my membership, then anyone can be happy. That’s what the gospel of Jesus Christ has done for me; helped me to be happy because I have found God’s truth.

How I live my faith

Attending church every Sunday possible allows me to remember the promises I made at baptism and the lessons I learn while attending strengthens me. Inviting my friends and family to come with me to church to learn more about my faith is something that’s important to me. I know this is God’s true church on the earth. I must share it with others. Praying daily to my Heavenly Father allows me to give thanks and ask for guidance in my life.

 

The website allows users to meet Mormons based on demographic data: gender, age, ethnicity, or by keyword.

Watch the video here.

Like NHM on Facebook | Follow NHM on Twitter | Follow NHM on Pinterest

