Janelle Monáe is the newest Covergirl!

While browsing Facebook, I saw 2 status updates from LushCoils and The Mane Source that rendered me speechless. This doesn’t happen often. I’m not the most talkative person in the world, but if there’s something on my mind, I voice it. Typically sans filter. As I’m typing this, my fingers can barely keep up with my thoughts.

*Dramatic pause*.

Janelle Monáe is the newest Covergirl!!!!!!!!! She joins artist Pink and U.S. Olympians Marlen Esparza (Boxing), Jennifer Kessy (Volleyball), and Mary Spencer (Boxing).

Natural hair is in the spotlight in this glamorous, gorgeous, and timely ad campaign from Covergirl. And Janelle Monáe wants you to know:

“Accept yourself for who you are”.

and

“Embrace those things that make you unique”.

Update: read Janelle’s interview about being a CoverGirl here.

How many natural hair celebrities are or have been spokespeople in advertising campaigns for a large corporation? I know, you may immediately think Solange Knowles. But I challenge you to identify some that aren’t selling you hair products. Share in the comments below if you can think of any.

Visit Covergirls’ Pinterest page for more images of Janelle in action. There’s even a post about how to tie a bow tie, inspired by Covergirl Janelle Monáe.

Join me in congratulating Janelle on Twitter and Facebook.

Like NHM on Facebook | Follow NHM on Twitter | Follow NHM on Pinterest

What's on your mind?

