Thrifty Thursdays: A Thrifting Session with Kerrie of Virtuous Styls

 Introducing my new Thrifty Thursday series. (side note: I love creating new series for NHM. If there’s something that you want to see on NHM, please let me know). 🙂

For these Thrifty Thursday posts, I’ll be sharing my thrifting experiences and finds with my NHM readers.

In October, I’m traveling to New York for a mini-vacay. I’m staying with a good friend of mine in Queens, and I look forward to thrifting, eating out, and exploring other parts of New York City. Being the faithful naturalista, I searched for events in the natural hair community taking place that weekend. And I’m happy to report that I found one! I’ll be attending the Rapture Under the Bridge, where you can see  Kindred the Family Soul, salon owner and stylist Ansylla Ramsey, Holistic Nutrition Therapist Consir Thot, Yardley Messeroux of TheCoilReview.com – The Forefront of Natural Beauty, Imani Dawson of Tribe Called Curl, actor/choreographer/actor Darrin Dewitt Henson, and Marlene Duperly, co-owner of Doris New York Hair Care Products. Tickets are on sale here (Rapture Under the Bridge), and start at $20.

But let me be honest. I checked the attire for the event and I was confused. Lost, even. It said vintage fall chic. *blank stare* I’m no fashionista so I was thoroughly lost. So I decided to consult thrifter extraordinaire, Kerrie of Virtuous Styls. Kerrie is a personal stylist who offers very affordable thrifting sessions, styling sessions, etc. I first met Kerrie at the Coco Curls Spring Trends event. She was a panelist at the event, and was incredibly fierce. Talk about a bona fide thrifter. And when I needed a consultation from a stylist, I hit up Kerrie.

The process for scheduling the appointment was so easy. You just go online, pick a time, and you’ll receive a confirmation email and a phone call from Keri. I chose Thursday because B&R Thrift Store in Atlanta has a 50% off ladies night special.

Fast forward to the day of the appointment. Kerrie was on-time, early even. And she was so engaging, efficient, attentive, hilarious…..! We found so much stuff (see the cart in the picture below) and I scored the perfect piece for my event. I got so many pieces, and only spent $42 after a $5 coupon and the 50% off deal. I ended up buying this lightweight green jacket for only $1.50.

Source: Virtuous Styls

I also found these brand-new animal print shoes for only $16.

I scored this cute blue blazer for $2.

You can find Kerrie on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Tumblr. She also has a blog.

Source: Virtuous Styls

A little background on my introduction to thrifting: I started thrifting about a year ago. Only when I realized I was spending lots of money on clothes in a down economy. I decided to check out Goodwill, and see what they had to offer. I’ve been hooked ever since. Since I started thrifting, I’ve found lamps, dresses, shoes, pants, dresses, skirts etc. from stores like Ann Taylor Loft, Banana Republic, J.Crew, etc all for a deep discount.

Have you ever thrifted? If not, will you start?

5 thoughts on “Thrifty Thursdays: A Thrifting Session with Kerrie of Virtuous Styls

  1. Pingback: The Week in Review: 5 Most-Viewed Posts on NHM September 16 | Natural Hair in the Media

  2. Pingback: Thrifty Thursdays – Beautiful Aldo Purse and Vintage Dress | Natural Hair in the Media

What's on your mind?

