Mondays Around the Web – Hairscapades

Hey subscribers and visitors! I’m always on the look-out for conversations around the web about natural hair and commercials/advertisements. It’s a good sign that people continue to talk about this great topic. Natural hair has been and will remain relevant. Today’s feature for my Mondays Around the Web post comes from the blog, Hairscapades. 

In this post, Shelli highlights an Infiniti commercial with a natural hair bride. Her comments about the commercial are interesting: “As many of you know, I’ve been natural for 12 years. When I see comments that more natural women are in commercials now … I often think, “They’ve always been there.” But, I think that “seeing” natural hair in the media is like seeing the car that you drive, you never notice how many of them there are until you “own” one yourself”

Read the rest of the post here.

But tell me, is natural hair in the media simply a function of noticing more women in the media because you are natural? Like Shelli suggests, “I think that “seeing” natural hair in the media is like seeing the car that you drive, you never notice how many of them there are until you “own” one yourself”.

 Or is there more to it than that?

Source: Infiniti

Let me know your thoughts,

Tiffany

2 thoughts on “Mondays Around the Web – Hairscapades

  1. Uh, NO! There are plenty more natural women in the media these days. I think it has less to do with black women actually embracing their natural hair, and more to do with companies noticing that more “affluent,” “family-oriented” black people seem to identify more with the less “glamorous” and more “down-to-earth-look” of natural hair.

    • Thank you for your comment, Nya. I have to agree with you. I think it’s a marketing tactic, an attempt at reflecting what the everyday consumer looks like. And the reality is, that more and more black women are wearing their hair in its natural state.

What's on your mind?

