Event Recap: Sophia Barrett Studios Launch Party

I love supporting black-owned businesses, and I recently had the pleasure of attending the launch party of Sophia Barrett Studios in Atlanta, GA. This event, which I found through EventBrite, celebrated the launch of Sophia Barrett Studios. Self-described as a Photo Journalistic Wedding Photographer, Sophia Barrett Photography is a wife and husband team.

This event was so fab! And I don’t say this very often. From the space, to the live band, to the host, to the food, and most importantly, her work, I was a very happy event attendee.

Almost as soon as I walked in, I was greeted by Sophia Barrett herself. She was very friendly and welcoming, and I appreciated that she took the time to introduce herself. I told her about my blog, and she pointed out her photos of women with natural hair. Please check out her blog for gorgeous photos of natural hair brides. 

Here’s a sneak peek of a beautiful natural hair bride from her blog.

Source: Sophia Barrett Photography

The food was so delicious. There was rice and beans, chicken wings, cesar salad, some delicious corn dish, bruschetta, dip, cupcakes, and wine. I should have asked who made it, but I was too busy stuffing my face. Who did I run into but Mae of Naturalchica.com? Thankfully, my mouth wasn’t full (as I was busily eating) and we spoke briefly. It was nice to see her at a different type of event.

And the band was amazing! They played a lot of John Legend songs, and did a great job.

Gift bags were also provided, and included a lip scrub and utensils set.

Event sponsors included ellyB Events, Catering and Events Consultants, T. Daval, and Savvy Thriftique.

What's on your mind?

