Thrifty Thursdays: These boots were made for walkin’

Happy Thanksgiving! I hope you’re spending time with family, or doing whatever you enjoy on this holiday. I’m eating and drinking plenty!

I have some more thrifting treasures to share with you. But before I do that, I want to provide some general tips on thrifting.

#1 Be patient

It’s easy to get overwhelmed by the sheer number and variety of goods offered in a thrift store. But take your time. Unless you know exactly what you’re looking for, I suggest that you plan on spending at least 45 minutes in any store.

#2 Have a plan

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve ventured into a thrift store with no idea of what I wanted to buy. Sometimes, this is when you find the best stuff! But other times, you may end up over-buying and picking up something that you don’t really want. A general tip is to know what you are looking for before stepping inside the thrift store. If you know that you’re looking for patterned skirts, go straight to the skirt section and skip over anything that’s not patterned. If you’ve been looking for a dressy purse, start in the purse section.

3. Try it on. Try it on! And try it on!

Don’t make the mistake of thinking that the gorgeous silk blouse you found in a small will fit you because you’re a small. We all know that one designer’s small may not be another’s. But over and above that, I need to give you a reality check. You are buying someone else’s clothes. Understand that they may have stretched out that blouse or even shrunk it!

For other sites with useful tips, please check out

TLC Style

How to Nest for Less

And now for the pièce de résistance! *My weekly thrifted treasure*

These brown, leather BCBG Girls boots are made for walkin’. I scored these babies at the Goodwill on Northside Dr in Atlanta (by the way, I think their shoe selection is great!) for only $6.99! That’s right, just $6.99 for some leather boots. When I saw someone else trying them on, my eyes immediately lit up. But I had to be stealthy. I couldn’t show too much interest because she might just put them in the cart so I couldn’t have them. You know how we women can be sometimes. Once she finally put them back, I immediately pounced on them, tried them on, and “Score!” they fit.

I’m so happy I found these boots. I wear them everywhere now, and even rocked them on the plane to San Diego. I couldn’t resist pairing them with some hot pink jeggings I scored from Uniqlo and a tacky Christmas sweater I found at Goodwill for only $6.99!

5 thoughts on “Thrifty Thursdays: These boots were made for walkin’

  1. Great looking boots. Great find for you. These boots were made for walkin’,I had that album by Nancy Sinatra as a kid. Her boots where red. She looked great on the cover. Yeah right I bought the album for the music. Best to you Tiffany. Bye.

      • Where I live I can go to yard sales starting early April up to late Octobor if the weather is good. I have this year bought 3 different pairs of New Balance tennis shoes maybe tried on and the owners wanted something different. There around $35.00 a pair and got then for $3.00 a pair each time. Whatever I save though the year not paying retail I keep listed. I set that money aside so at this time of year I can have money to donate to charities at Christmas. My town only has Goodwill stores and they are just about like a retail store. Yard sales is where I can come out ahead. As always wishing you the best. Bye.

What's on your mind?

