Gorgeous, colored curls and the 2013 Ford Fusion

What is a color harmony leader? And why are her colored curls so fab?

This advertisement (and commercial) for the new Ford Fusion showcases Theresa Scott-Harris. Scott-Harris is a color harmony leader for Ford, and is responsible for “delivering the program intent from the color harmony direction all the way through the supplier intent when we build the vehicles”. Put another way, she’s a designer who works with engineers and suppliers to make sure that the paint color is representative of the vision.

But I have to raise a metaphorical eyebrow. Or both, actually. The commercial seemed really disconnected to me. I didn’t really understand what Bonz Malone (a cultural critic) added to the commercial. “We need more roses growing from concrete?” Here’s my question to Ford: What’s the significance of the concrete symbolism? I understood what they were going for, but I don’t think it was executed well. And I’ll be the first one to admit, my lazy self didn’t take the time to watch the other videos with the exhaust engineer, design manager, or launch manager. If I had, it’s possible it would have made sense.

What I like about the commercial is that Ford provides you with insight into the design and engineering processes for building a vehicle. And while learning Scott-Harris’ hobbies makes it more personable, I’m left wanting more.

2 thoughts on “Gorgeous, colored curls and the 2013 Ford Fusion

  1. Just from reading, and without watching the commercial, because I’m too lazy at 2:30 am, it seems like the quote might be referring to the red color of the car (red…rose growing from the concrete). Maybe its just me but I don’t like commercials where the consumer has to guess the meaning. It sort of defeats the purpose IMO. We shouldn’t have to re-watch or google to find the answer. Just makes me wanna fast forward or just skip.

    • Lol. I have to agree with you. When you have 30 seconds or so to sale me something, I shouldn’t be wrestling for too long with the meaning of your tagline, purpose of your product, etc. And I get what they were going for, but I don’t think it worked.

What's on your mind?

