Thrifty Thursdays: Red Tie Soiree Edition

red tie soiree

One of my favorite things to do is get dressed up and go out. Stand in the mirror and sing, “So you fancy, huh”?Whenever I have the right opportunity, I try to take advantage and enjoy myself. The Red Tie Soiree, held annually in Atlanta and NYC, seemed like the perfect opportunity to wear a red dress.

The Find

About 6 months ago, I was shopping at the Goodwill store on Northside Drive in Atlanta, GA. I was searching through the rack in my favorite section (yay, dresses!) and I saw this shiny, red fabric peeking out behind some unforgettable dress. I immediately jumped on it, and pulled it out to find the.best.thrift.store.find. EVER.

reddresssoiree2I didn’t recognize the brand of the dress, but that didn’t really matter. For only $6.99, I scored this lovely semi-formal dress. Even though I didn’t have anywhere to wear it at the time, it didn’t matter. The drapery, the cut, the belt detail, the color, and the fit made it a “must-have”.

The Event

The Red Tie Soiree celebrated its 10th annual event this past Sunday, December 16th. It was held in one of the ballrooms of the W Midtown in Atlanta. Donations and toys from the event went to the Hearts of Steel, Zion Hill Community Development Corporation, Atlanta Day Shelter for Women and Children, Inc., and The Sickle Cell Foundation of Georgia, Inc.

When I arrived at the event, I dropped off my toy (I bought Monopoly!) and stopped by the red carpet.The red carpet and event photographers (Paras Griffin, ATL Red Carpet, and Tonight Atlanta) took several pictures of me, and pictures from the event can be seen here.

I had a great time dancing, though I did pass on doing “The Wobble”. No thank you, *pause* enjoy yourself.

Tiffany Red Tie Soiree

Overall, the event was cool and I enjoyed myself. Above all else, I loved rocking a $6.99 thrifted dress on the red carpet!

2 thoughts on “Thrifty Thursdays: Red Tie Soiree Edition

  1. Hey Tiffany!!
    I must say you have a GREAT find on your hands! You look absolutely STUNNING hun!!! Who says you have to spend a million bucks to look like a million bucks!! GWS Boutique (as my Cousin & I call it) definitely has some great finds!! Good work! :^)

What's on your mind?

